Forgot password?
AIM Member University of Hertfordshire

University of Hertfordshire

School of Pharmacy

College Lane, Hatfield,
AL10 9AB, Hertfordshire
United Kingdom

The School of Pharmacy was established in 2004 by the appointment of a Foundation Professor, Soraya Dhillon.  The School of Pharmacy became one of six schools in the Faculty of Health and Human Sciences, which offers a full range of health and social care and life science programmes.    The School has developed collaboration with the pharmaceutical industry to ensure a strong science base to the degree in terms of drug design and discovery, together with medicines development.  The MPharm degree was also developed on the basis of integration of science and practice and to ensure students have a clear understanding through early contact with practice through collaborations with the full range of practice sectors i.e. hospital, community, and primary care.

School Mission

The School of Pharmacy will:
• Develop a range of innovative and dynamic Undergraduate and Postgraduate Programmes in Pharmacy
• Foster and stimulate high level research and development capacity
• Develop an organisation which values and develops its staff
• Embrace an organisational culture and environment which supports excellence in learning, teaching and research
• Be recognised by internal and external peers and stakeholders as an organisation which is successful and can develop innovation in learning teaching and research both nationally and internationally

The School normally admits 150 students a year for the MPharm course of four years duration. The academic year commences September/October.Foreign students are eligible within this cohort. 

Undergraduate courses
MPharm Pharmacy

Postgraduate courses
MSc Advancing Pharmacy
MSc Medicinal Chemistry
MSc Pharmaceutical Analysis
MSc Pharmaceutics
PgDip Pharmacy (Overseas Pharmacists Assessment Programme)
MSc Pharmacy Practice 

The School has appointed Professor Marc Brown in Pharmaceutics and Professor Fabrizio Schifano as Chair in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics to develop and take forward the School’s research strategy. The School of Pharmacy together with Pharmacology submitted to the Research Assessment Exercise in 2008. Despite the School only having a research history of 2 years the overall outcome was extremely encouraging, with 75% of the output recognised as being of international standard and 35 % of this as internationally excellent. The Pharmacy panel identified several key strengths which have resulted from strategic developments at both School and University levels. These included i) succession planning, ii) capacity building through institutional support for research studentships, iii) substantial University support for infrastructure , iv) our strong relationship with research users (in particular industry) and v) evidence of good technology transfer.

Currently, the core strategic research areas in the School of Pharmacy are Topical Drug Delivery and Toxicology; Patient Safety and Medicines Management; and Clinical Psychopharmacology/Substance Misuse. The University has made an investment of some £5M in research in the School of Pharmacy by establishing (i) new analytical chemistry and sterile manufacturing facilities, (ii) a new solid dosage form manufacture and characterisation laboratory, (iii) the Topical Drug Delivery Unit with Class II biohazard facilities (iv) an internationally acclaimed Health Simulation Centre which supports Patient Safety and Medicines Management research,(v) an NMR facility equipped with both 400 and 600MHz instruments and (vi) a state of the art cell culture facility. In 2009 a new Class III biohazard laboratory was established jointly with Biopark, an £8M science park established in 2005 by the University with co-funding from the East of England Development Agency.

There are currently 22 PhD students or Research Fellows, and a planned steady expansion will increase this to 49 by 2015.